Hello world!

Welcome to aboutecology. This is my very first post. My name is Nikos and I live in Thessaloniki, Greece. Thessaloniki is the second most populated city in Greece, with a population a bit over 1.1 million.
I am currently a student in two different fields, business and engineering. My major in business is Business Management and my minor is Computer Science. In engineering, I study Survey Engineering, focusing on Road and Traffic Engineering. This is the 6th year of my studies and it will, hopefully, be the last.
Although it may seem like my studies are quite irrelevant to ecologic issues, they are not. The rising concerns about environmental issues have affected almost all sciences, especially engineering, the field in which I plan to continue my studies. In particular, the field I am interested in is Renewable Energy Sources and I created this blog in order to discuss several issues about Renewable Energy Sources in Greece.
Around the city I live in, there are quite a few places of environmental significance, the most important of which are:

  1. The national park of Mount Olympus, which is the highest mountain in Greece and the house of the Twelve Gods of ancient Greek mythology. Information can be found on http://www.olympusfd.gr/us/infos.asp
  2. The national marine park of Allonisos, which is the largest marine protected area in Europe. Information on http://www.alonissos-park.gr/ 
  3. The national park of Axios- Aliakmonas, which is an Important Bird Area. Information on http://www.axiosdelta.gr

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

